Mountains to climb along my route?

Have you taken a great hike or want to? Post a note here about the various trails and hikes in the park.

Moderators: teapot57, Tara

spd3487
Please add the numbers(11): 0

Mountains to climb along my route?

Post by spd3487 »

I was wondering what would be the best mountain to climb along my route during the first week of Aug.? (FLA,FIF,WAT,HOL,WAT,GLH,HEL) Keeping in mind the milages that I have to hike between campsites and the fact that I am a novice hiker/climber. I'm wondering if there will be time to climb at the end of one of my days in Glacier. I really want to climb though and I would prefer a class 3 climb over a 1 or 2 as I want at least some degree of challenge or it will defeat the purpose! Thanks. Would Thunderbird or Merritt even be options with my route schedule?
dorf

Re: Mountains to climb along my route?

Post by dorf »

I was wondering what would be the best mountain to climb along my route during the first week of Aug.? (FLA,FIF,WAT,HOL,WAT,GLH,HEL) Keeping in mind the milages that I have to hike between campsites and the fact that I am a novice hiker/climber.
Well, I'd say you'll have your hands full just getting to camp for your last three nights for sure as those are long days. I'm not a climber but I'd say your best bet for climbing anything would be when you get to HOL.
So many mountains, so little time.
spd3487

Post by spd3487 »

What about Mt. Custer at HOL? Does anybody know anything about any possible climbing routes for this one?
Heff936
Donator
Donator

Post by Heff936 »

SPD: