New Gear for the Season

Well, what's the best and what's the worst? Let's talk about all those things we carry to make our trips more comfortable...

Moderators: teapot57, Tara

toddnick
Donator
Donator
Please add the numbers(11): 0

New Gear for the Season

Post by toddnick »

I'm fairly new to the day hiking game and have only been buying equipment for the last 18 months or so. I had everything I needed to get by for my last trip cross-country in September 2008, but I think I now understand about some women and shoes because I keep finding new stuff that I have to have, sometimes it's a duplicate item and sometimes it is an upgrade from what I had. Being new to the game, I'm sure that I'm unaware of some great gear out there. What products have you bought since last season in Glacier??

My camping gear is fairly new from last year (tent/sleeping bag/thermarest/backpack), so it's mostly clothes....

Here is my list.....

2 North Face Glacier 1/4 Zip Fleeces (I love these, now I have four different colors total)
2 Smartwool Hiking Socks (Never can have enough of these)
2 North Face Velocitee T-Shirts (Very lightweight, wicks well, now I have a total of four)
2 North Face Vaporwick Ruckus T-Shirts (More durable than the velocitee)
1 North Face xtc Mid-Weight Top & Bottom Base Layer (This makes three pair of these)
1 Pair Garmont Flash Hiking Boots (LOVE my current pair and now have a back-up)
1 Petzl Tikka Plus Headlamp (This will replace propane lantern for nighttime reading at camp)
1 North Face Windwall Thermal Fleece Jacket (Needed a warmer fleece jacket, layered over the 1/4 zip fleece this was good to 0 degrees in January)
1 Pair Mountain Hardware Fulcrum Glove (Never owned a pair of good warmer gloves)
1 North Face Venture Weather Pant (Ripped my last pair on a branch)
1 Garmin e-Trex Vista HCx Hiking GPS (New toy to play with, so far I love it)
1 Timex Expedition Watch (I have only always had one watch, time to get a sports watch)
Ear Mountain