North Circle Route 7/31 - 8/5 trip report (day 3 updated)

Well, tell us how your trip went. We all want to hear about your special experience.

Moderators: teapot57, Tara

nkrainywindlg
Gender?: Female
Please add the numbers(11): 11

North Circle Route 7/31 - 8/5 trip report (day 3 updated)

Post by nkrainywindlg »

I've been reading posts on this forum since the beginning of the year. Thanks to everyone who asked questions and provided information.
Especially thanks to Pete, who is so warm-hearted and gave me so many great suggestions.

This is my first time to write a trip report, in English. :-) Please forgive my poor writing. :twisted:

The idea of this trip started after I came back from Glacier NP last year in mid August. Last year I made a perfect plan, but the Thompson fire started on the first day of the trip. Then the whole trip was full of smoke and fire. I felt sad since the beautiful view was covered by smoke. After I came back from Glacier, I decided to go one more time to see the real beauty of the park. I always wanted to do a backcountry trip, but my husband was reluctant to do it unless I find other people to go with. Luckily my friends (a couple) agreed to go together.

The North circle route was our first option and the Bowman lake to Kintla lake (through hole in the wall and Boulder pass) was the second option. We finally got our first choice (how lucky we were), the backcountry permit for 5 nights on North Circle Route (7/31-8/5).

7/31/2016 Logan pass to Granite park chalet (GRN), 7.6 miles, 900 up
8/1/2016 to Fifty Mountain (FIF), 11.9 miles. 1910 up and 1780 down.
8/2/2016 to Stoney Indian (STO), 8.2 miles,1725 up, 2800 down
8/3/2016 to Mokowanis Junction (MOJ), 5.7 miles, 1000 up and 2410 down
8/4/2016 to Elizabeth lake (ELF), 8.8 miles, flat
8/5/2016 EXIT- Many glacier, 10.1 miles, 2518 up and 2480 down.